Habitat for Humanity Build in Kauai, Hawaii

Habitat for Humanity Global Village build Guatemala, 2012

Habitat for Humanity Global Village build Guatemala,

I enjoy travel and particularly the final preparatory moments.  On the edge of another adventure  with a Habitat for Humanity two-week build in Kauai, Hawaii.  New territory for me as I have not visited Hawaii, though many of my friends travel quite frequently to the sunny state.

While I pay tedious attention to pack proper clothing for the work site, I often lose track of the details of the build location. The benefit of a team build is I am not the leader. Other wonderful folks made the arrangements for housing, food and scheduled fun time.  The absent-minded behavior will ultimately produced charming moments filled with surprise as I see new territory for the first time.  I pay my money, show up, work and have a fabulous time.

Habitat builds contain layers of encounters as team members are from all over the United States and other countries.  Not only do you meet new people on the team, but further interact with the local community beyond a tourist level helping build homes

I know one member on the team, Nancy, from a previous Global Village Build in Guatemala.   We remained friends and in fact Nancy recruited me to the Kauai build.  In the Guatemala picture, Nancy is located on the far right.

Over the years I learned to travel light and found that I wear less than half the clothing I transport, but that is not the case this trip.  My suitcase contains too many clothes, especially for a sunny environment.

Last weekend I purchased a few cute summer dresses at winter prices – $2.00 each.  Then I scored on a super-duper high-end swim suit designed to hold my fifty something body in place at another terrifically low price.  For those that know me, I am not a shopper and venturing out with me risks a stressful, miserable experience.   To land the few clothing items needed, in addition to  the work clothes, signified another sparkly Habitat trip begins.   So why do I still have a plethora of shirts and pants?  No answers here, simply abandoning myself to the over-packed suitcase phenomena.

And joining me is a travel Deering GoodTime Banjo, packed with bubble wrap in a cushy bag.  Highly recommended by my banjo buddies as a lighter  instrument to take on trips that still maintains a terrific sound.  A conversation with a United Flight staff soothed lingering worries I had about the banjo possibly ending up underneath the plane, assured me it will fit in the overhead and they will assist to find it a safe spot.

Interesting to traveling on October 31, Halloween, – I just spotted superman walking through the terminal.

Guatemala Habitat for Humanity Build, Fall 2010

Guatemala Habitat for Humanity Build

Leave a Reply

